The Best Four Words Ever*

This week I heard The Best Four Words Ever* – “You’ve got the job.” It took a while for these words to register and even now I can barely believe they are true.

I’d like to take a self-indulgent moment to look back on my six weeks of redundancy: the good times, the bad times, the time when I ate six cinnamon donuts in one day …

My Redundancy (aka the agony and the ecstasy)

  • Went and visited my sister, brother-in-law and two adorable nephews (I’m not biased, they really are the cutest little boys on the planet) for close to a week of magnificent food, lots of hugs and kisses and more than a few glasses of wine. I enjoyed this week of living in denial
  • Told everyone I knew that I had been made redundant (if only to remind myself that I didn’t have a job and I should probably start panicking soon). This then led to an outpouring of support from family and friends – even my chiropractor gave me a discount
  • Cancelled my gym membership, then kept it open, went five times in one week, and then decided I may be unemployed forever and cancelled it again. Today I reopened it, much to the delight of the Fitness First team (they don’t let you quit without a fight)
  • Got to see a lot of movies: Snow White and the Huntsmen, Ted, Rock of Ages, What to Expect When You’re Expecting, Five Year Engagement, The Amazing Spiderman
  • Bid a fond farewell to the book industry in a whiny post called So Long, and thanks for all the books
  • Rediscovered the library. All the books there are FREE. What a wonderful place!

My New Flatmates in the pool

  • Made friends with the two wild ducks who have taken up residence in my pool
  • Wrote 24 cover letters and tweaked my resume 12 times
  • Got a job in my second week of redundancy but had to turn it down as I am sure even a character from a Charles Dickens novel couldn’t survive on that wage
  • Watched A LOT of soapy TV – Season 1 of Heart of Dixie, Season 3 of Vampire Diaries, Season 5 of Madmen – it’s a wonder I got any job applications done
  • Got to hang out with my other sister (again wine and food were involved)
  • Was free-as-a-bird to rush to the hospital bed of my dad when he got pneumonia and was there to support my mum (Unemployment was a gift in this case.)
  • Went through a two interview process for three different jobs – actually, for one job I met with two recruiters first, then had two interviews with the company, ultimately leading to someone else getting the role
  • Ate six cinnamon donuts in one day (It was probably after the experience above.)
  • When I got the flu and was then a snot machine for three weeks, I was free to wallow in my illness and feel superior to those poor workers who had to drag their sick selves to work
  • Whined some more in a post called Job Interviews Are Like Blind Dates
  • Got to bond with one of my flatmates who was off work with broken bones following  a game of chicken between his bicycle and a car. The car won
  • In a week I like to call “A lot of practice”, I had five job interviews – including two interviews on Friday the 13th. By the time I had my last interview, an hour-long interview with three interviewers, I had rehearsed all the questions many times before. And that’s the job I got.

I also had time to read lots of your blog posts and I want to say THANK YOU to those of you who continually come and visit my blog and leave comments. I get a lot of happiness from your witty remarks and words of support.

 

*The Best Four Words Ever may be a tad over-the-top. I should probably say “The Best Four Words I’ve heard in a while.” You could argue that “Will you marry me?” ” You’ve won the lottery” and “Do you want cake?” are also great contenders for the best four words ever.

11 thoughts on “The Best Four Words Ever*

  1. Congratulations! It sounds like in some ways your time off was a good thing. And your good news gives me hope for finding work myself :). You’re right, there are many 4-word combinations out there that are very nice to hear, but that’s a pretty good one given the situation.

Leave a Reply

