Jane Eyre Laid Bare: A Review

Jane Eyre Laid Bare by Eve SInclair

Jane Eyre Laid Bare by Eve Sinclair (e-book) 336 pages, pub Oct 2012

I don’t really know what made me choose Jane Eyre Laid Bare by Eve Sinclair to read. I saw it when scrolling through a list of e-books on Amazon and bought it on impulse because I love the book Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and wanted to see what the “naughty” version of it was like. I thought it could be interesting. I thought wrong. But I can’t say I wasn’t warned. A quick look at reviews posted on goodreads showed that those who disliked it did so with a passion bordering on venomous. Still, I thought I would give it a go.

Basically, this book is the fantastic classic Jane Eyre with random sex thrown in – and not even good sex. It was cringe-worthy. The parts I liked best were the parts closest to passages from the original book. I flicked quickly through this book just so I could get it over and done with. And don’t even get me started on the terrible ending …

I’ve come to the conclusion that classics are classics for a reason – because they are pretty much the perfect read in their original form. To cut them up, and inject gratuitous raunchiness into them that in no way enhances the original story, could be seen as a form of sacrilege. It just made me appreciate how much more passionate the original Jane Eyre story was because of what it hinted at but didn’t say. Less truly is more and it was more powerful for me when the passion between Mr Rochester and Jane Eyre was implied rather than outlined in kinky detail. Was it really necessary to learn that Jane and the other girls at the orphanage she grew up in were “very close” friends?

If you haven’t read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte then perhaps give this a read – but if you have read the classic then this may really, really annoy you. Its probably best not to bother with this version that adds sex parties, sex toys from Japan and servants going at it like rabbits to a classic. What next Fifty Shades of Darcy? Sensual and Sensuality? Whipping Heights? Alice gets it on in wonderland? Kinkyrella? Pokemehontas? Hmm … on second thought maybe I should jump on the bandwagon and write me an e-book!

5 thoughts on “Jane Eyre Laid Bare: A Review

  1. I call the whole movement of redoing well-loved novels with a modern twist as “trashing classics”–I mean, come on, zombies, murder mysteries, and now erotica? Yikes! This is why copyright laws are important. Can you imagine someone trying to do a To Grill a Mockingbird? changing the plot to serial animal murders just to play off the title?
    Check out my Jane Eyrror post for my own take on the redo trend.
    Happy Pages,
    CricketMuse

  2. Thanks for saving me the disappointment – I probably wouldn’t have read that one anyway but it’s always good to know when I’m not missing anything! Sounds like all you need is a title so perhaps you actually should get writing… I’m very circumspect about these so-called “reworkings” and in general can’t see what they hope to add to the original (although as you know I’ve enjoyed some of the Amanda Grange diaries). A few years ago I read a most entertaining story online in which all of Jane Austen’s heroes band together to defend their territories – and Miss Austen’s good name – from zombies, sea-monsters, “vampyres” and the like – it was good to know I wasn’t alone in feeling that way!

Leave a Reply

